Be Aware of Inferior Levels of Consciousness

If you look attentively at the title, it seems to imply a vicious circle: “to be conscious of your consciousness”. But this isn’t a real vicious circle due to the fact that our consciousness is built on levels. All these levels are hierarchically organized. The levels at the top, sometimes called meta-levels, have the power to control those that are at a lower level.

When we wake up in the morning, we have two options and each of us can choose just one of them:

  • hypnotically going into the routine of the day, or
  • consciously going into the routine of the day;

First option implies that we act as an automatic machine not programmed and governed by ourselves but by circumstances. Second option means making conscious decisions, being aware of all happenings around us and those automatic acts are programmed and supervised by ourselves.

In “Power vs Force”, David Hawkins talk about two kinds of consciousness’s levels. The inferior levels: shame, guilt, apathy, grief, fear, desire, anger and pride. The superior levels: courage, neutrality, willingness, acceptance, reason, love, joy, peace and enlightenment.

Regarding inferior levels, we can tackle them in three steps:

  • become aware of them;
  • affect them;
  • get rid of them;

First step towards a better level of consciousness is to become aware of what happens into our mind. In this way we can assess if we are or not in an inferior level.

If we find ourselves in such a state of consciousness then the second step is to affect it, in other words, to decrease their intensity. A good way to do this is to consciously relax your body and mind then ask yourself: “is this thought or emotion useful or harmful for me and/or for others?”.

The best way to get rid of an inferior level is to develop and cultivate the superior levels. When an inferior level is hunting you just consciously replace it with a superior one (if you previously developed them).